آثار العنف الأسري على الأطفال

يرى الأطفال ويسمعون ويلاحظون كل ما يحدث في بيئتهم. لذلك ، يتأثر الأطفال دائمًا بالعنف في المنزل ، سواء شاهدوه أو جربوه بأنفسهم. تمامًا مثل الضحايا والناجين البالغين ، يمكن للأطفال الذين يتعرضون أو يشهدون العنف أو الإساءة الاستجابة بعدة طرق مختلفة. يعتمد رد فعل الطفل تجاه الإساءة على العمر ، ومدى الإساءة ، والدعم الذي يتلقاه الطفل من الآخرين ، وعلاقتهم بالمعتدي. بصفتك أحد الوالدين ، يمكنك دعم طفلك من خلال الاستماع والتحقق من تجاربهم.

تتضمن بعض ردود الفعل الشائعة للأطفال الذين يتعرضون للعنف أو يشهدونه ما يلي:

تغييرات في الأكل والنوم

التغييرات السلوكية

التراجع عن السلوكيات السابقة مثل التبول في الفراش أو مص الإبهام  التغييرات الاجتماعية والأكاديمية

فقدان الاهتمام بالأقران والمدرسة والأنشطة

دعم طفلك

بعض الأشياء التي يمكنك القيام بها لدعم طفلك:

طمئنهم أن ما حدث لم يكن خطأهم

حافظ على روتين في المنزل والمدرسة

تعزيز الشفاء من خلال الموسيقى والفن والصحف والعلاج

شجع طفلك على الانخراط في الأنشطة التي يستمتع بها

دع الطفل يقود المحادثات ولا تجبره على الحديث أو يطرح الكثير من الأسئلة

اسمح لطفلك بطرح الأسئلة والتحدث بحرية عن تجربته - حافظ على هذه المحادثات بمستويات مناسبة للعمر

هناك علامات أخرى على أن العلاقة قد تكون غير صحية. إذا شعرت أن هناك شيئًا غير صحي أو خاطئ في العلاقة ، فثق بنفسك. من الطبيعي أن يشعر الأشخاص الذين يمرون بعلاقات غير صحية بعدم اليقين بشأن ما يريدون القيام به. يعد التحدث مع أحد المدافعين خطوة أولى جيدة في اكتشاف ما تشعر به وما هي الخيارات المتاحة أمامك. خدمات CADA مجانية وسرية لجميع الضحايا والناجين.

كيف يمكن أن تساعد CADA

CADA دعاة مدربون خصيصًا للعمل مع الأطفال والأسر. يمكن أن يساعد المدافعون الآباء على فهم آثار العنف وسوء المعاملة بشكل أفضل وتقديم الاستراتيجيات والدعم في التواصل مع الأطفال. لمعرفة المزيد حول كيفية مساعدة دعاة CADA للأطفال والعائلات ، يرجى الاتصال وطلب التحدث مع محامي الطفل والأسرة.

Child at Psychologist

The Effects of Domestic Violence on Children

Children see, hear, and observe everything that happens in their environment. Therefore, children are always affected by violence in the home, whether they witness it or experience it themselves. Just like adult victims and survivors, children who experience or witness violence or abuse can respond in many different ways. A child's reaction to abuse depends on age, extent of abuse, support the child has received from others and their relationship to the abuser. As a parent, you can support your child by listening and validating their experiences.

Some common reactions for children experiencing or witnessing violence include:

Changes in eating and sleeping

Behavioral changes

Regressing to past behaviors such as bed wetting or thumb sucking  Social and academic changes

Loss of interest in peers, school, and activities

Supporting your child

Some things you can do to support your child:

Reassure them that what happened was not their fault

Maintain a routine at home and school

Promote healing through music, art, journaling, and therapy

Encourage your child to engage in activities that they enjoy

Let the child lead conversations and do not force conversations or ask too many questions

Allow your child to ask questions and freely talk about their experience – keep these conversations to age appropriate levels

There are other signs that a relationship might be unhealthy. If you feel that there is something unhealthy or wrong with the relationship, trust yourself. It is normal for people in unhealthy relationships to feel very unsure about what they want to do. Talking with an advocate is a good first step in figuring out how you feel and what your options might be. CADA's services are free and confidential to all victims and survivors.

How CADA Can Help

CADA has advocates trained specifically to work with children and families. Advocates can help parents to better understand the impacts of violence and abuse and offer strategies and support in connecting with children. To learn more about how CADA advocates can assist children and families, please call and ask to speak with a Child and Family Advocate.